#1 Ball at the 2018 Australian Amateur Championships

Golf Australia is at the Lake Karrinyup Country Club & Wanneroo Golf Club this week as 233 men and 73 women players compete for the prestigious title of Australian Amateur champions. First played in 1894, the Men's Australian Amateur is Golf Australia's oldest championship and an open to amateur golfers with a handicap index less than or equal to 2.0;

Play began Wednesday, January 17 with the first of two stroke play rounds, which determines the 64 players who advance to match play. The historic Lake Karrinyup Country Club, an annual host of the PGA Tour Australasia, will test the players on its 6,531m layout. 

Mens Australian Amateur Ball CountAnd once again, Titleist is the overwhelming golf ball of choice. As Lake Karrinyup Country Club hosts the premier men's and women's amateur championship, 176 players in the men's field of 233 and 45 players in the women's field of 73 players are playing a Pro V1 or Pro V1x, more than seven times the nearest competitor with 31 and more than all competitors combined. 

Titleist also leads the field in hybrids, and iron sets (134) with Vokey Design wedges leading the way in the approach, sand and lob wedges (163) category and Scotty Cameron putters (148) topping the putter category.

Womens Australian Amateur Ball CountCongratulations to all participants who earned a spot into the prestigious championship and good luck to those who remain in match play! 

• • •

The Men's and Women's Australian Amateur Championships are just two of several marquee national Australian and New Zealand amateur events where the top competitive amateur players in the world put their trust in Titleist. Throughout 2017 Titleist proved to be the golf ball of choice at the following prestigious events.

The #1 ball at the 2017 New Zealand Amateur Championships

The #1 ball at the 2017 Australian Junior Amateur Championships

The #1 ball at the 2017 Riversdale Cup

The #1 ball at the Master of the Amateurs

The #1 ball at every State and Territory Amateur Championship across Australia